A topnotch WordPress.com site

Jack’s Piece of Eight, & Other Beads and Coins

Although I haven’t yet purchased my wig (soon, very soon) I have collected a few of Jack’s trinkets to tie into it once it arrives.  Jack has numerous beads and coins dangling from his hair, one of the most prominent being his “piece of eight”, which is featured heavily in At World’s End.

Though not really a piece of eight (actual coins used during the Golden Age of Piracy that were often cut into eight pieces to make change), Jack’s is so called because it once belonged to one of the original 9 pirate lords of the Brethren Court.  When they first convened they didn’t have any actual pieces of eight on them and thus made due with what they had in there pockets at the time.

In reality the coin used in the movie is a Burmese 5 pya coin from the mid 20th century, and the beads are African trade beads.  Several vendors have offered versions of Jack’s piece of eight over the years, including a cheap plastic version from the now defunct Master Replicas.  These can still be found on eBay and Amazon.  I originally purchased one of these back in 2006, but when I finally decided to assemble a complete Jack Sparrow costume I knew I wanted something a bit more accurate.

(Master Replicas version)

The piece of eight I really wanted was from Swag Arts (I mentioned their kohl eye make-up in my last post), but for quite some time they were listed as Out of Stock on the website.  So being a bit impatient, and wanting to add something to my costume list, I asked the Jack’s over on facebook if any of them knew of a decent alternative.  One of them offered to make me one, and I took him up on his it.  What I received was quite passable, and given the lack of good pieces of eight available I was quite satisfied (a lot of attention has been shifted to Jack’s new “zombie finger” dangle worn in On Stranger Tides, so replicas of the original have become harder to find).

But, as luck would have it, shortly after the above piece of eight arrived Swag Arts relisted their pieces of eight, and I just couldn’t resist snagging up the one I’d really wanted all along.  Even it wasn’t 100% authentic, but for the money it was the best one I’ve seen.  The green and white beads looked closer to the Curse of the Black Pearl version, and the brown bead didn’t quite have the accurate barrel shape, but it was still a fantastic looking piece of eight, and most people would never notice.

As is usually the case with a maddening hobby like costuming though, I couldn’t leave well enough alone and eventually started perusing eBay to see if I might come upon some more accurate beads.  It wasn’t long before I found some brown barrel beads that were spot on, and a set of green padre beads that looked pretty darn close.  For good measure I also changed out the white bead with one from a set of beads I had lying around from the craft store that was a closer match size wise.  In addition to changing the beads I also switched out the small metal ring that holds the coin on with one that was a bit smaller, and repainted the white pips on the red skunk bead.  With all that done my piece of eight is now just about as screen accurate as I can get it!

Knowing that I will finally have my wig very soon I also picked up what is often called Jack’s African trade bead strand, or skunk bead strand.  This came from Swag Arts as well.  Jack has this string of beads tied to a dreadlock next to his right cheek.

Jack also has a couple more 5 pya coins tied into his wig, so I snagged a set from a vender on Etsy back a few months ago.

By “On Stranger Tides” Jack’s wig has changed quite a bit and now features several additional beads and coins, including one set made out of a couple of Chinese coins and often referred to as his “hidden Mickey” coin set (due to it’s resemblance to Mickey Mouse’s head and ears), and a pair of skull beads carved out of bone.  Back several months ago there was a seller on eBay offering these and I purchased a set even though I’m going for a “Dead Man’s Chest/At World’s End” look rather than “On Stranger Tides.”  I just like the look of them (I’ve got a bracelet made out of similar bone skull beads I wear all the time) so I think I might tie them in to my wig somewhere as a small personal touch.

I can’t believe it’s already been 2 years since I made the commitment to finally assemble a complete Captain Jack outfit, and I certainly never would have guessed that it would take quite so long to do it.  But if all goes well I might just have a complete outfit by the end of 2014!

Now I just need to hurry up and get that bloody wig…

2 responses

  1. beebella

    Hi, what are the groups for jack cosplay? I cant seem to find any..

    May 3, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    • On facebook there is Sparrow STW (sales trades wants) and The Locker (Jack Sparrows only). Feel free to check them out and join us. Also check out brethrencourt.forumotion.com

      May 4, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

